Skip to main content

Posts

Thoughts I had while rereading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

So the last couple of months, I have detailing the thoughts I have had while reading Harry Potter and this will be the last one for a while as I haven't read past Goblet of Fire so let's get started...


I feel sorry for FrankMilk Nagini?Although Wormtail is horrible, Voldemort is worse, he is torturing him by using the name that his friends gave him which is just so....Can I just ask how Lily and James Potter had a small fortune?Is it weird that Veela are mentioned before FleurHarry sees them as almost inhumanDid they really think that Winky could cast the dark mark- really?I wish the Weasley's would take the moneyCalmly notedAlso do they really think that Harry put his name in the Goblet of Fire. Like really.I love sassy Hedwig!Hufflepuff don't get much glory- yeah you can say that again...Snape is so cold...All the good one will be gone- really boys reallyHermione is right! Personality all the way!Hermione is my spirit …
Recent posts

Blog Tour: The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Last Namsara  Author: Kristen Cicarelli
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Gollancz  
Rating: 4/5 stars

(GoodreadsAmazon)












Book Summary from Goodreads:


In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be dark—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death bringer. 
These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up hearing in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.
Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her be…

Duology Book Review: Disruption and Corruption by Jessica Shrivington

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Title: Disruption and Corruption 
Author: Jessica Shrivington 
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: HarperCollins 
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Goodreads| Amazon)









Book Summary from Goodreads:

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match? What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?
Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.
Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loved most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it.
Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer—heir to the M-Corp empire—has become key to Maggie’s plan. But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for? 
In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the m…

Weekend Blitz: What Goes Down by Natalie K. Martin Book Review

* I have received this book for review from NeverlandBlogTours but this in no way affects my review *

Title: What Goes Down 
Author: Natalie K. Martin
Source: From Neverland Blog Tours
Publisher: Self Published
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary: 


WHAT GOES DOWN is an emotional, must-read novel of love, loss and second chances. Set in the present day and late 80’s, WHAT GOES DOWN deals with relationships touched by mental illness, and is perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Julie Cohen.
Seph Powell has all she ever wanted: a close family, loving boyfriend and her dream career. A gifted artist with a highly anticipated exhibition just weeks away, her life seems to be perfect. Until a man she's never met claims to be her real father.
Laurel and Tony Powell are devoted parents. Having worked hard to provide everything for their daughter, they’ve created an enviable, picture-perfect family. Until Laurel's ex-boyfriend, Nico comes back into their lives.
In the summer of 1987…

Book Review: A Semi Definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland

* I have received this book for review from Readers First but this in no way affects my review *

Title: A Semi Definitive List of Worst Nightmares
Author: Krystal Sutherland
Source: From Readers First
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Rating: 5/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary from Goodreads:
Ever since Esther Solar's grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. Esther's father is agoraphobic and hasn't left the basement in six years, her twin brother can t be in the dark without a light on, and her mother is terrified of bad luck.
The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them. 
Esther doesn't know what her great fear is yet (nor does she want to), a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything. Elevators, small spaces, and crowds are all off-limits. So are haircuts, spiders, dolls, mirrors and three dozen other phobias she keeps a record of in h…

The Guilty Reader Tag

So the guilty reader tag has been going around booktube for a while now, and I have always been interested in the questions so thought that I would do it myself although I wasn't tagged. The Guilty Reader Tag was created by Chami at ReadLikeWildfire where you can see the original so let's get started...

1. Have You Ever Regifted A Book That You’ve Been Given?
No, I don't think so. I don't tend to give people books that I have been given but if I don't like a book that someone has given to me I will probably give it to charity.

2. Have you ever said you’ve read a book when you haven’t?

No, I don't think so. If someone asks me, I will probably not say anything rather than say I have read the book.

3. Have you ever borrowed a book and not returned it?

Again, I don't think I have. People have done it to me which is probably why I don't do it as I know the pain of losing a book so no...
4. Have you ever read a series out of order?
OK, so I have actually done this. …

Characters Vs Plot: Which is more important?

Characters versus plot, I feel like is a question that is mentioned quite often in the book community but which one is better and does it even matter? To be honest, I don't know but I feel like it can be generally a personal preference. 

I guess my first thought at this question would be, of course, it is the characters. I mean you can have a great plot but if your characters are weak, what are who are you going to care about? I feel like there are notable things to consider, however, as we would all say things like, "I would read anything by J.K. Rowling especially the Harry Potter characters even if they were doing nothing." That's because they are great characters and as an audience, most of us care about these characters so much but would we really do this? I don't think so, in fairness it would probably be boring because if they had no plot the characters wouldn't be themselves. 

Characters need the plot to develop and grow and make them real characters so…