Skip to main content

Book Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Title: Extraordinary Means
Author: Robyn Schneider
Publication Date: 2015
Source: Purchased Mysel
f

Rating: 4.5/5 










Summary of Extraordinary Means from Goodreads:


A bitter-sweet, coming-of-age novel that's perfect for fans of John Green and Stephen Chbosky.
When he's sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens, Lane thinks his life may as well be over.
But when he meets Sadie and her friends - a group of eccentric troublemakers - he realises that maybe getting sick is just the beginning. That illness doesn't have to define you, and that falling in love is its own cure.
Extraordinary Means is a darkly funny story about true friendships, ill-fated love and the rare miracle of second chances

Book Review Summary: 

After reading The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider in 2013, I fell in love with Robyn Schneider’s writing and her characters therefore having high hopes for any future releases. Extraordinary Means doesn’t disappoint tying together great and likable characters with a captivating plot that is hard to put down.

Plot:

I had limited problems with the plot and liked the way the story progressed until the last 50 pages when I was on the verge of tears. Schneider did a wonderful job with of tying a version of incurable TB (which doesn’t exist) with a coming-of-age story about self-discovery from Lane’s perspective who realises that school is not the most important thing in life. I also enjoyed the activities which Lane experiences in Latham with Sadie and her group of friends as it was well executed. Another strong point was how Lane’s and Sadie’s story with their friends and family evolves over the course of the book, showing in real terms how a disease which is contagious can affect the relationships in relation to other non-contagious diseases. Finally, Schneider does a good job at incorporating social media into the novel as many contemporary novels don’t although very active in many teenagers’ lives today.

Overall: The plot of Extraordinary Means is well executed and developed but get the tissues at the ready for a sad and unexpected ending.    

Characters:


I enjoyed all the characters including the side characters as they were all well developed and enjoyable all having they own individuals traits but can be referred to as your average/ typical YA misfit characters having “weird” cosplay obsessions or sticking out of the crowd when in Latham or inside school. By the end of the book I enjoyed the characters but at the beginning I didn’t like the way that Sadie interacted with Lane and found that her character was quite juvenile although she was sixteen. However at the end of the book, I enjoyed the relationship between her at Lane and her personally and empathies with her. I also like Lane and had no problems with him and I enjoyed his character development over the course of the novel.

Overall: The characters in this novel are enjoyable but some the side characters do full into the trap of your typical YA misfit.

Writing:

Robyn Schneider has very witty writing that reflects today’s society by including up to date references and embracing social media which I find rare in some of the more up to date YA contemporary releases. The characters have their own voices and are very different to each other which was very enjoyable to read about. I also enjoyed the references to Harry Potter and other films like Spirited Away as you can see her own personality through her writing by incorporating it in with the characters.

Overall: The writing of this book is well done and incorporates references that will engage the reader.

The Verdict: Robyn Schneider is an author that stands out from the crowd with her witty writing and fun characters and an enjoyable plot. Extraordinary Means is a very entertaining book but will leave you heartbroken at the end, get the tissues at the ready.

Have you read Extraordinary Means? Did you like it? Leave your comments below.

Hope you enjoyed this review.

See you soon,



Amy

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Turning 21?

You see I have put this blog post for such a long time but tomorrow the inevitable will happen and I will turn 21. I don't know why I decided to add and to keep a question mark in the title because it's not like it is going to happen it will but maybe it's because I just don't feel like it. Queue all the age is nothing but a number talk but I  guess that this is not what this blog post is going to be about. 

Being 21 has always been the number that I have aspired to, the one that has been in the back of my mind for the longest time. When I was 18, I knew that at 21 I would be in my final year of university, which I am, and that I would graduate this year and on to the future. But am I right?

I feel like so much has changed it want this magic number must be, given the bears with keys in their hands as if a sign that this would be the time that we would get keys of our own and would gain so much independent. But this is it, it is just a dream. 

That's not going to happe…

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …

Blog Tour: The Curse of Time by Marjorie Mallon Book Review

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review *



Title: The Curse of Time Authors: Majorie Mallon Source: Publisher Publisher: Kyrosmagica Publishing Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)

Book Review Summary:

Fifteen-year-old Amelina Scott lives in Cambridge with her dysfunctional family, a mysterious black cat, and an unusual girl who's imprisoned within the mirrors located in her house. When an unexpected message arrives inviting her to visit the Crystal Cottage, she sets off on a forbidden pathway where she encounters Ryder, a charismatic, but perplexing stranger.

With the help of a magical paint set, and some crystal wizard stones she discovers the truth about a shocking curse that has destroyed her family's happiness.
Book Review:
I hadn't heard of the Curse of Time when I received an email to be part of the blog tour but being a person who loves to read YA fantasy I knew I had to give it a read. I really enjoyed The Curse of Time and it is a real…