Skip to main content

Book Review: Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Tell Us Something TrueTitle: Tell Us Something True
Author: Dana Reinhardt 
Source: From publisher 
Publisher: Rock The Boat
Rating: 5/5 stars







Summary of Tell Us Something True from Goodreads:

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters. 
Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive.
But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants, to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.

Book Review Summary:

Tell Us Something True is a truly unique YA contemporary that stands out from others in its genre. It has memorable characters, an interesting plot and is well written. 

Plot: 

Tell Us Something True follows River, a boy that can't drive in a city that drives everywhere and he is lost when his girlfriend breaks up with him the only way that he can navigate the city of LA. With this River has to walk and this is where his adventure starts.
The plot of Tell Us Something True can come across as stupid and silly and to be honest, it is but this is what I love about it.I think as the story really progresses it becomes much more than the actual plot, being a story of the power of truth and how important it is. This ultimately makes the novel as it is what makes and breaks the friendships, this is after River makes this way to a support group and lies about having a weed addiction. It is, therefore, interesting to see how his relationship changes and evolves due to this. 
Considering the book is very short, the plot is started and wrapped up very nicely and although this is a good thing my main complaint is that I need just want more of the story. This being said I know this will not be the last Dana Reinhardt book that I will read.

Characters:

Characters are a great part of the story and I felt that they were well written and I enjoyed reading about them. River was, of course, a really loveable character and I really liked him as the main protagonist and seeing his character develop over the novel, coming more into himself and moving on from his ex-girlfriend even if this meant telling a few lies before he gets to the truth. I then really enjoyed the character of Daphne and the complexities of her and the fact that she involved in River's life and then how she overcomes this as this was interesting to see. This being said, the characters were diverse in novel having different problems but also representing the different classes of American society which is something I have not seen mentioned in YA literature a lot. I also really liked the relationship of River and Daphne and liked to see the way that it changed also. I  definitely like the other characters in the support group but due the shortness of the novel I don't feel like these were explored as much as they should of. The characters were the comic relief of the story but it would have been nice to have some more development. But in general the characters were a main part of why I enjoyed the story.  

Writing:

I really enjoyed Reinhardt's writing in the book it was very addictive and at times I felt a need to read the book although I had to go to lectures and revision to do that day. This meant that the book was easy to finish and I raced through it. I also really liked the shortness of the novel as it meant that her writing was often concise and this is good for an author. It was just overall a well-written book. 

The Verdict:

A fresh new YA that is the perfect for summer which shows that even though driving a car is great, walking gives you a great adventure too. 

Have you read Tell Us Something True? Did you like it? Leave it in the comments below. 

See you soon, 

Amy
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …

2nd Year Blogging Anniversary and GIVEAWAY (CLOSED)

So if you see by the title of the blog post, it has been over two years, on the 15th June 2015, since my first blog post. I said in my last blog post that a lot has changed in a year but I feel like the thing that has changed most is the layout because let's face it I haven't really been consistent this year. (I blame university.) Although my posts are inconsistent I still love blogging and come up with so many ideas that I want to write about and would love to become more consistent over the next year but we will see how that goes. Blogging comes with a great community of people and Twitter chats have made me find so many books that I love and interact with great people so I am happy to be part of this community. 

So last year I completed a mini-survey which spoke about books that I like and want to read to see if I might have changed in a year so I thought that this was something I will do again...

Q1) Favourite Book

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak- OK so this one hasn't cha…

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is...

Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you may think that female characters are actually quite well done in the series but at some points, this is not the case. To look at this further I will be looking at characters individually as well as some aspects of the series in general. I guess that until I first researched the topic, I thought that of course, Harry Potter was going to have good female representation…