Skip to main content

If you like Stranger Things, then you will like this...

So last week, like most that have a Netflix account, I watched Stranger Things and l became hooked with it like so many other people. I know that there is a long wait before season 2 so keep you happy I thought that I could recommend things that are similar to Stranger Things, including books and movies. So let's get started...

Books:

North of Porter by Kirkland Ciccone

North of PorterSimilar to the plot of Stanger Things, Porter Minister moves to a town where quite "strange things" are happening. No there is no upside down or 80s but it is still the adventure of finding people who have gone missing and aliens are involved. It is also incredibly weird (in a good way) and is definitely worth a read. 







Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkSet in the 80s and full of references to comics of the time, the similarities with stranger things are there with the setting but are not with the themes. Great for people who want that 80s nostalgia after their Stranger Things binge.  









Paper Girls by Brain K. Vaughn


Paper Girls, Vol. 1Set in the 80s, again, this follows a group of girls who deliver papers in their local area. When things start happening in their town, the girls investigate with very interesting results. This is a must read for everyone but especially great if you love the friendship in Stranger Things clearly evident in this graphic novel. 







Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player OneNot set in the 80s but full of references from this time period, this is again another read that is great if you want to remember that time. It is also being created and made into a film by Steven Spielberg so there is just more 80s than you can ask for. 








Films:

Midnight Special

Image result for midnight specialReleased earlier this year in the UK, this film by Jeff Nicols is a science fiction that follows as two men who are trying to save a young boy from the government. A road trip across the country of America, in is a film that's style is nostalgic to the 80s similar to that of Stranger Things and is worth a watch. 







Super 8

Image result for super 8This film clearly links to the aesthetics of Spielberg and other films of the 80s as well of Stranger Things itself. Following a main cast of friends as they try to shot a film but weird things start to be found and that them of an adventure. 









Any film made in the 80s especially Spielberg films 

Image result for poltergeistStranger Things often links to films made in the 80s including that of Evil Dead, Poltergeist and the Goonies as well as E.T which is all obvious watching for anyone who loves the show. 










If you have any more recommendations for those who like Stranger Things, then leave them in the comments below. 

See you soon, 

Amy
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …

1 Year Blogging Anniversary and Giveaway (CLOSED)

So if you could not see by the title of the blog post, it has been a year since I posted my first blog post. I can happily say that this blog has changed a lot in this one year, I mean the layout has not been dramatically altered but the content has. This blog has increased my passion for reading and has been a way that I can spread this with everyone in this community. This has led me to read some incredible books and interact with some great people and I can happily say that I feel part of the community. 

Due to this being the first year of the blog existing, I hope for this to be the first of many so to track the changes in my blogging life especially in terms of my reading life. So let's get started...

Q1) Favourite book?

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak- No book that I have read in the last two years seems to surpass how much I love this book but I am not saying that the books that I have read after this one are bad I just like this one a bit more...










Q2) What book do you hope to re…

Female Representation in Harry Potter: A Transcription

So later today, in 2 hours I am going to be doing a presentation on Female Representation in Harry Potter for my university's Harry Potter Society and I thought some of you may be interested in what I had to say. I also respect that people may disagree with my views on the subject and understand that this is not the only opinion you can have. So here it is...

Hello, everyone. Thank you for coming! Today I am going to discuss female representation in Harry Potter books and films. The aims of this presentation would be to introduce you to the fact that female representation in Harry Potter may not be what it seems. So you may think that female characters are actually quite well done in the series but at some points, this is not the case. To look at this further I will be looking at characters individually as well as some aspects of the series in general. I guess that until I first researched the topic, I thought that of course, Harry Potter was going to have good female representation…