Skip to main content

If you like Stranger Things, then you will like this...

So last week, like most that have a Netflix account, I watched Stranger Things and l became hooked with it like so many other people. I know that there is a long wait before season 2 so keep you happy I thought that I could recommend things that are similar to Stranger Things, including books and movies. So let's get started...

Books:

North of Porter by Kirkland Ciccone

North of PorterSimilar to the plot of Stanger Things, Porter Minister moves to a town where quite "strange things" are happening. No there is no upside down or 80s but it is still the adventure of finding people who have gone missing and aliens are involved. It is also incredibly weird (in a good way) and is definitely worth a read. 







Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkSet in the 80s and full of references to comics of the time, the similarities with stranger things are there with the setting but are not with the themes. Great for people who want that 80s nostalgia after their Stranger Things binge.  









Paper Girls by Brain K. Vaughn


Paper Girls, Vol. 1Set in the 80s, again, this follows a group of girls who deliver papers in their local area. When things start happening in their town, the girls investigate with very interesting results. This is a must read for everyone but especially great if you love the friendship in Stranger Things clearly evident in this graphic novel. 







Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player OneNot set in the 80s but full of references from this time period, this is again another read that is great if you want to remember that time. It is also being created and made into a film by Steven Spielberg so there is just more 80s than you can ask for. 








Films:

Midnight Special

Image result for midnight specialReleased earlier this year in the UK, this film by Jeff Nicols is a science fiction that follows as two men who are trying to save a young boy from the government. A road trip across the country of America, in is a film that's style is nostalgic to the 80s similar to that of Stranger Things and is worth a watch. 







Super 8

Image result for super 8This film clearly links to the aesthetics of Spielberg and other films of the 80s as well of Stranger Things itself. Following a main cast of friends as they try to shot a film but weird things start to be found and that them of an adventure. 









Any film made in the 80s especially Spielberg films 

Image result for poltergeistStranger Things often links to films made in the 80s including that of Evil Dead, Poltergeist and the Goonies as well as E.T which is all obvious watching for anyone who loves the show. 










If you have any more recommendations for those who like Stranger Things, then leave them in the comments below. 

See you soon, 

Amy

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

On Turning 22

So on Wednesday (today when this goes up) I will be 22. *is currently listening to 22 by Taylor Swift* Obviously. The thing about turning 22 is the fact that you have just turned 21. I say just it was a whole year ago. 21 which has so many meanings behind it which is what I mentioned in my post last year so turning 22 feels kind of meh.21 felt to me last year as to be some big thing like my whole life was going to change. I was graduating from university after so much in my life felt like it was going to change.But the thing is it didn't.I stayed for a Masters in History. At the same university with people that I have know for some year and new ones and of course the people the people that graduated last year ain't there anymore and I do miss them. Things are still kind of the same.Turning 22 feels like it's in the middle. It's not special. It doesn't hold special meaning. It's just itself. This is how I feel like 2019.2019 is such a middling year for me. I'…

Favourite Books Of The Year (2018)

As it is now 2019 I think it is time to share my favourite books of 2019. I read over 120 books last year, 125 to be exact so there is a lot to choose from so I will be doing a top 10 with 7 honourable mentions so let's get started...

Honourable Mentions:

















Number 10: Theatrical by Maggie Harcourt 


Theatrical was just so fun. I feel in love with everything in the book and loved the romance. I really enjoyed the whole idea of going backstage in the theatre so I would definitely recommend. 
















Number 9: Lord Of Shadows by Cassandra Clare



I am more than happy to say that I was a massive fan of Lady Midnight but there was something about Lord of Shadows that I devoured and loved. That ending also broke me so I hope that I can read Queen of Air And Darkness in 2019.  













Number 8: Are We All Lemmings And Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne

I did really enjoy this book and thought that it was an interesting look at mental illness. I love Holly Bourne anyway so of course, I was going to love this book. I want …

Book Review: Ascension by Victor Dixen

*I am reviewing this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *

Title: Ascension Author: Victor Dixen Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Readers First Rating: 5/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)



Book Summary:
Six girls, six boys. Each in the two separate bays of a single spaceship. They have six minutes each week to seduce and to make their choices, under the unblinking eye of the on-board cameras. They are the contenders in the Genesis programme, the world's craziest speed-dating show ever, aimed at creating the first human colony on Mars.

Leonor, an 18 year old orphan, is one of the chosen ones. 
She has signed up for glory.
She has signed up for love.
She has signed up for a one-way ticket.

Even if the dream turns to a nightmare, it is too late for regrets.

Book Review: 

I was excited to read Ascension as Hot Key were describing this as Love Island in space and much like the rest of the UK, I have been hooked by the show that has just finished. This description is so accurate bu…