Skip to main content

If you like Stranger Things, then you will like this...

So last week, like most that have a Netflix account, I watched Stranger Things and l became hooked with it like so many other people. I know that there is a long wait before season 2 so keep you happy I thought that I could recommend things that are similar to Stranger Things, including books and movies. So let's get started...

Books:

North of Porter by Kirkland Ciccone

North of PorterSimilar to the plot of Stanger Things, Porter Minister moves to a town where quite "strange things" are happening. No there is no upside down or 80s but it is still the adventure of finding people who have gone missing and aliens are involved. It is also incredibly weird (in a good way) and is definitely worth a read. 







Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkSet in the 80s and full of references to comics of the time, the similarities with stranger things are there with the setting but are not with the themes. Great for people who want that 80s nostalgia after their Stranger Things binge.  









Paper Girls by Brain K. Vaughn


Paper Girls, Vol. 1Set in the 80s, again, this follows a group of girls who deliver papers in their local area. When things start happening in their town, the girls investigate with very interesting results. This is a must read for everyone but especially great if you love the friendship in Stranger Things clearly evident in this graphic novel. 







Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player OneNot set in the 80s but full of references from this time period, this is again another read that is great if you want to remember that time. It is also being created and made into a film by Steven Spielberg so there is just more 80s than you can ask for. 








Films:

Midnight Special

Image result for midnight specialReleased earlier this year in the UK, this film by Jeff Nicols is a science fiction that follows as two men who are trying to save a young boy from the government. A road trip across the country of America, in is a film that's style is nostalgic to the 80s similar to that of Stranger Things and is worth a watch. 







Super 8

Image result for super 8This film clearly links to the aesthetics of Spielberg and other films of the 80s as well of Stranger Things itself. Following a main cast of friends as they try to shot a film but weird things start to be found and that them of an adventure. 









Any film made in the 80s especially Spielberg films 

Image result for poltergeistStranger Things often links to films made in the 80s including that of Evil Dead, Poltergeist and the Goonies as well as E.T which is all obvious watching for anyone who loves the show. 










If you have any more recommendations for those who like Stranger Things, then leave them in the comments below. 

See you soon, 

Amy
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Turning 21?

You see I have put this blog post for such a long time but tomorrow the inevitable will happen and I will turn 21. I don't know why I decided to add and to keep a question mark in the title because it's not like it is going to happen it will but maybe it's because I just don't feel like it. Queue all the age is nothing but a number talk but I  guess that this is not what this blog post is going to be about. 

Being 21 has always been the number that I have aspired to, the one that has been in the back of my mind for the longest time. When I was 18, I knew that at 21 I would be in my final year of university, which I am, and that I would graduate this year and on to the future. But am I right?

I feel like so much has changed it want this magic number must be, given the bears with keys in their hands as if a sign that this would be the time that we would get keys of our own and would gain so much independent. But this is it, it is just a dream. 

That's not going to happe…

Book Review: Ascension by Victor Dixen

*I am reviewing this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *

Title: Ascension Author: Victor Dixen Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Readers First Rating: 5/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)



Book Summary:
Six girls, six boys. Each in the two separate bays of a single spaceship. They have six minutes each week to seduce and to make their choices, under the unblinking eye of the on-board cameras. They are the contenders in the Genesis programme, the world's craziest speed-dating show ever, aimed at creating the first human colony on Mars.

Leonor, an 18 year old orphan, is one of the chosen ones. 
She has signed up for glory.
She has signed up for love.
She has signed up for a one-way ticket.

Even if the dream turns to a nightmare, it is too late for regrets.

Book Review: 

I was excited to read Ascension as Hot Key were describing this as Love Island in space and much like the rest of the UK, I have been hooked by the show that has just finished. This description is so accurate bu…

Blog Tour: The Curse of Time by Marjorie Mallon Book Review

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review *



Title: The Curse of Time Authors: Majorie Mallon Source: Publisher Publisher: Kyrosmagica Publishing Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)

Book Review Summary:

Fifteen-year-old Amelina Scott lives in Cambridge with her dysfunctional family, a mysterious black cat, and an unusual girl who's imprisoned within the mirrors located in her house. When an unexpected message arrives inviting her to visit the Crystal Cottage, she sets off on a forbidden pathway where she encounters Ryder, a charismatic, but perplexing stranger.

With the help of a magical paint set, and some crystal wizard stones she discovers the truth about a shocking curse that has destroyed her family's happiness.
Book Review:
I hadn't heard of the Curse of Time when I received an email to be part of the blog tour but being a person who loves to read YA fantasy I knew I had to give it a read. I really enjoyed The Curse of Time and it is a real…