Skip to main content

If you like Stranger Things, then you will like this...

So last week, like most that have a Netflix account, I watched Stranger Things and l became hooked with it like so many other people. I know that there is a long wait before season 2 so keep you happy I thought that I could recommend things that are similar to Stranger Things, including books and movies. So let's get started...

Books:

North of Porter by Kirkland Ciccone

North of PorterSimilar to the plot of Stanger Things, Porter Minister moves to a town where quite "strange things" are happening. No there is no upside down or 80s but it is still the adventure of finding people who have gone missing and aliens are involved. It is also incredibly weird (in a good way) and is definitely worth a read. 







Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & ParkSet in the 80s and full of references to comics of the time, the similarities with stranger things are there with the setting but are not with the themes. Great for people who want that 80s nostalgia after their Stranger Things binge.  









Paper Girls by Brain K. Vaughn


Paper Girls, Vol. 1Set in the 80s, again, this follows a group of girls who deliver papers in their local area. When things start happening in their town, the girls investigate with very interesting results. This is a must read for everyone but especially great if you love the friendship in Stranger Things clearly evident in this graphic novel. 







Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player OneNot set in the 80s but full of references from this time period, this is again another read that is great if you want to remember that time. It is also being created and made into a film by Steven Spielberg so there is just more 80s than you can ask for. 








Films:

Midnight Special

Image result for midnight specialReleased earlier this year in the UK, this film by Jeff Nicols is a science fiction that follows as two men who are trying to save a young boy from the government. A road trip across the country of America, in is a film that's style is nostalgic to the 80s similar to that of Stranger Things and is worth a watch. 







Super 8

Image result for super 8This film clearly links to the aesthetics of Spielberg and other films of the 80s as well of Stranger Things itself. Following a main cast of friends as they try to shot a film but weird things start to be found and that them of an adventure. 









Any film made in the 80s especially Spielberg films 

Image result for poltergeistStranger Things often links to films made in the 80s including that of Evil Dead, Poltergeist and the Goonies as well as E.T which is all obvious watching for anyone who loves the show. 










If you have any more recommendations for those who like Stranger Things, then leave them in the comments below. 

See you soon, 

Amy
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

2nd Year Blogging Anniversary and GIVEAWAY (CLOSED)

So if you see by the title of the blog post, it has been over two years, on the 15th June 2015, since my first blog post. I said in my last blog post that a lot has changed in a year but I feel like the thing that has changed most is the layout because let's face it I haven't really been consistent this year. (I blame university.) Although my posts are inconsistent I still love blogging and come up with so many ideas that I want to write about and would love to become more consistent over the next year but we will see how that goes. Blogging comes with a great community of people and Twitter chats have made me find so many books that I love and interact with great people so I am happy to be part of this community. 

So last year I completed a mini-survey which spoke about books that I like and want to read to see if I might have changed in a year so I thought that this was something I will do again...

Q1) Favourite Book

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak- OK so this one hasn't cha…

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …

Diversity Bingo 2017

To continue with my aim of reading diversely, I decided at the beginning of the year that I was going to do the Diversity Bingo Challenge. The idea of this being to read 36 books and complete the bingo-like sheet with the aim being to read as much diverse fiction as possible. Like a lot of people in the bookish community, I wanted to continue reading more diverse books and thought this would be the way to do it. This post is to update myself and others on my progress in this challenge so if you are looking for recommendations in what to read please look here, herehere and here. So let's get started...
Romance with a trans MC: Non-binary MC (own voices): SFF w/disabled MC: Jewish MC: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli Indian MC (own voices): Displaced MC: The Jungle by Pooja Puri
MC with an under-represented body: Panther by David Owen  Neuro-diverse MC (own voices): The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas Re-telling with MC belonging to LGBTQIA+:
Bisexual MC (own voices): Our Own Pr…