Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren 
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary from Goodreads:


Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.
But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.
No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ...
An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable. 

Book Review:

When I first heard about Prisoner of Ice and Snow I was definitely intrigued especially as the book has been described as Prison Break meets Six of Crows or Frozen..which is pretty interesting especially as it is labelled as a Middle-Grade book. Prisoner of Ice and Snow does deliver on this promises showing a character driven prison break out book which easily blurs the boundaries of YA and Middle Grade.

To be honest, I didn't really have any problems with the book itself but one of the things that did let the book down for me was the format on Netgalley as when I finished the book, the file still told me that still had 2 hours left so I was left disappointed because I thought there was going to be some massive reveal and then it just ended and the things that I wanted to happen just didn't however there is a sequel but when I read the book I was slightly disappointed about this but it is not really the book's fault.

This book is also character driven and we are basically thrown straight into the plot of the story as Valor attempts to murder a prince to save her sister. It is therefore really nice to see the book evolve by seeing who she meets and how they ended up being included in the story. The story kept me entertained throughout and I did not know what would happen and was kept in suspense throughout which often made it have a mystery element to it because you don't know why Valor's sister was framed into stealing the music box. Although I did really enjoy the plot and that it did deal with breaking out from a prison, you have to ask how 4 teenagers manage what they do in the book.


I also really enjoyed the characters in the book especially but also the relationships in the book as they often did become more developed throughout and were not what you thought they were.
The Verdict:
Prisoner of Ice and Snow is a quick and interesting fantasy story that will
capture the imaginations of both YA and MG audiences alike.

Have you read
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Turning 21?

You see I have put this blog post for such a long time but tomorrow the inevitable will happen and I will turn 21. I don't know why I decided to add and to keep a question mark in the title because it's not like it is going to happen it will but maybe it's because I just don't feel like it. Queue all the age is nothing but a number talk but I  guess that this is not what this blog post is going to be about. 

Being 21 has always been the number that I have aspired to, the one that has been in the back of my mind for the longest time. When I was 18, I knew that at 21 I would be in my final year of university, which I am, and that I would graduate this year and on to the future. But am I right?

I feel like so much has changed it want this magic number must be, given the bears with keys in their hands as if a sign that this would be the time that we would get keys of our own and would gain so much independent. But this is it, it is just a dream. 

That's not going to happe…

Blog Tour: The Curse of Time by Marjorie Mallon Book Review

* I am reviewing this book for a blog tour but this in no way affects my review *



Title: The Curse of Time Authors: Majorie Mallon Source: Publisher Publisher: Kyrosmagica Publishing Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)

Book Review Summary:

Fifteen-year-old Amelina Scott lives in Cambridge with her dysfunctional family, a mysterious black cat, and an unusual girl who's imprisoned within the mirrors located in her house. When an unexpected message arrives inviting her to visit the Crystal Cottage, she sets off on a forbidden pathway where she encounters Ryder, a charismatic, but perplexing stranger.

With the help of a magical paint set, and some crystal wizard stones she discovers the truth about a shocking curse that has destroyed her family's happiness.
Book Review:
I hadn't heard of the Curse of Time when I received an email to be part of the blog tour but being a person who loves to read YA fantasy I knew I had to give it a read. I really enjoyed The Curse of Time and it is a real…

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …