Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren Book Review

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren 
Source: From Publisher 
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Rating: 4/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary from Goodreads:


Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.
But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.
No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ...
An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable. 

Book Review:

When I first heard about Prisoner of Ice and Snow I was definitely intrigued especially as the book has been described as Prison Break meets Six of Crows or Frozen..which is pretty interesting especially as it is labelled as a Middle-Grade book. Prisoner of Ice and Snow does deliver on this promises showing a character driven prison break out book which easily blurs the boundaries of YA and Middle Grade.

To be honest, I didn't really have any problems with the book itself but one of the things that did let the book down for me was the format on Netgalley as when I finished the book, the file still told me that still had 2 hours left so I was left disappointed because I thought there was going to be some massive reveal and then it just ended and the things that I wanted to happen just didn't however there is a sequel but when I read the book I was slightly disappointed about this but it is not really the book's fault.

This book is also character driven and we are basically thrown straight into the plot of the story as Valor attempts to murder a prince to save her sister. It is therefore really nice to see the book evolve by seeing who she meets and how they ended up being included in the story. The story kept me entertained throughout and I did not know what would happen and was kept in suspense throughout which often made it have a mystery element to it because you don't know why Valor's sister was framed into stealing the music box. Although I did really enjoy the plot and that it did deal with breaking out from a prison, you have to ask how 4 teenagers manage what they do in the book.


I also really enjoyed the characters in the book especially but also the relationships in the book as they often did become more developed throughout and were not what you thought they were.
The Verdict:
Prisoner of Ice and Snow is a quick and interesting fantasy story that will
capture the imaginations of both YA and MG audiences alike.

Have you read

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

On Turning 22

So on Wednesday (today when this goes up) I will be 22. *is currently listening to 22 by Taylor Swift* Obviously. The thing about turning 22 is the fact that you have just turned 21. I say just it was a whole year ago. 21 which has so many meanings behind it which is what I mentioned in my post last year so turning 22 feels kind of meh.21 felt to me last year as to be some big thing like my whole life was going to change. I was graduating from university after so much in my life felt like it was going to change.But the thing is it didn't.I stayed for a Masters in History. At the same university with people that I have know for some year and new ones and of course the people the people that graduated last year ain't there anymore and I do miss them. Things are still kind of the same.Turning 22 feels like it's in the middle. It's not special. It doesn't hold special meaning. It's just itself. This is how I feel like 2019.2019 is such a middling year for me. I'…

Favourite Books Of The Year (2018)

As it is now 2019 I think it is time to share my favourite books of 2019. I read over 120 books last year, 125 to be exact so there is a lot to choose from so I will be doing a top 10 with 7 honourable mentions so let's get started...

Honourable Mentions:

















Number 10: Theatrical by Maggie Harcourt 


Theatrical was just so fun. I feel in love with everything in the book and loved the romance. I really enjoyed the whole idea of going backstage in the theatre so I would definitely recommend. 
















Number 9: Lord Of Shadows by Cassandra Clare



I am more than happy to say that I was a massive fan of Lady Midnight but there was something about Lord of Shadows that I devoured and loved. That ending also broke me so I hope that I can read Queen of Air And Darkness in 2019.  













Number 8: Are We All Lemmings And Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne

I did really enjoy this book and thought that it was an interesting look at mental illness. I love Holly Bourne anyway so of course, I was going to love this book. I want …

Book Review: Ascension by Victor Dixen

*I am reviewing this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *

Title: Ascension Author: Victor Dixen Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Readers First Rating: 5/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)



Book Summary:
Six girls, six boys. Each in the two separate bays of a single spaceship. They have six minutes each week to seduce and to make their choices, under the unblinking eye of the on-board cameras. They are the contenders in the Genesis programme, the world's craziest speed-dating show ever, aimed at creating the first human colony on Mars.

Leonor, an 18 year old orphan, is one of the chosen ones. 
She has signed up for glory.
She has signed up for love.
She has signed up for a one-way ticket.

Even if the dream turns to a nightmare, it is too late for regrets.

Book Review: 

I was excited to read Ascension as Hot Key were describing this as Love Island in space and much like the rest of the UK, I have been hooked by the show that has just finished. This description is so accurate bu…