Skip to main content

Weekend Blitz: What Goes Down by Natalie K. Martin Book Review

* I have received this book for review from NeverlandBlogTours but this in no way affects my review *

What Goes Down: An emotional must-read of love, loss and second chancesTitle: What Goes Down 
Author: Natalie K. Martin
Source: From Neverland Blog Tours
Publisher: Self Published
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

(Goodreads|Amazon)











Book Summary: 


WHAT GOES DOWN is an emotional, must-read novel of love, loss and second chances. Set in the present day and late 80’s, WHAT GOES DOWN deals with relationships touched by mental illness, and is perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Julie Cohen.
Seph Powell has all she ever wanted: a close family, loving boyfriend and her dream career. A gifted artist with a highly anticipated exhibition just weeks away, her life seems to be perfect. Until a man she's never met claims to be her real father.
Laurel and Tony Powell are devoted parents. Having worked hard to provide everything for their daughter, they’ve created an enviable, picture-perfect family. Until Laurel's ex-boyfriend, Nico comes back into their lives.
In the summer of 1987, Nico stole Laurel’s heart with promises of adventure and excitement. But when he disappeared without trace, he left her as a single, teenaged parent. Now, twenty-five years later, he’s back and keen to meet the daughter he left behind.
But Nico’s sudden reappearance shows that nothing is quite as it first seems. And as long hidden truths are exposed, everything Seph thought she knew about her life begins to unravel.
Book Review:

When I first heard about What Goes Down, I was really interested in the premise as I knew that it dealt with mental health and often do search for books around this topic. What Goes Down did live up to this notion, being an honest and engaging look at mental health and family. 

So I should probably get the negatives out the way first. At times, this book didn't engage me as much as I hoped it would but I feel like this was because it is an adult fiction novel and was about someone who was older than me so I couldn't really relate to there experiences. Saying that this was the only negative to the book that I often found. 

The plot still did interest me and I was really excited to see where the story would go as we are literally dropped straight into the story from the first page and therefore need and want to find out what happened. There is also a big twist at the end of the book which I was also really shocked about and I just had to read it faster after that. 

The narrative is also told in a past and present narrative juggling her mum's perspective in the 1980s as well as a present-day narrative. I really do think this worked in the story and developed Laurel, Seph's mum character much more as we really do understand why she does what she does throughout the novel. The development of a mother character is not something that is done often in YA so, therefore, I really liked seeing it in this book. Although, not one for the 1980s setting due to the overload of 80s nostalgia in pop culture this did not affect me when reading. 

I also really enjoyed Seph as a character and the way that she interacted with her father after they met up and did find her to be quite interested and likeable although she had some bumpy times ahead in the book. 

I also did like the honest way that this book dealt with mental health as it was dealt with in a careful way although I personally can not say if the portrayal of Bipolar it might be worth seeing if anyone who has the condition says when and if they read the book. 

This may be slightly weird but I really like the dialogue in the book, it never felt forced and was quite natural which is always something nice to see when reading. 

The Verdict: 


What Goes Down is an interesting and engaging novel that balances the past and present as well as family life to make a good, solid read.


There is also a giveaway running for your chance to win a copy of the book, a stag necklace and a £10 Amazon voucher:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you read What Goes Down? Would you like to?

See you soon, 

Amy

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

On Turning 22

So on Wednesday (today when this goes up) I will be 22. *is currently listening to 22 by Taylor Swift* Obviously. The thing about turning 22 is the fact that you have just turned 21. I say just it was a whole year ago. 21 which has so many meanings behind it which is what I mentioned in my post last year so turning 22 feels kind of meh.21 felt to me last year as to be some big thing like my whole life was going to change. I was graduating from university after so much in my life felt like it was going to change.But the thing is it didn't.I stayed for a Masters in History. At the same university with people that I have know for some year and new ones and of course the people the people that graduated last year ain't there anymore and I do miss them. Things are still kind of the same.Turning 22 feels like it's in the middle. It's not special. It doesn't hold special meaning. It's just itself. This is how I feel like 2019.2019 is such a middling year for me. I'…

Favourite Books Of The Year (2018)

As it is now 2019 I think it is time to share my favourite books of 2019. I read over 120 books last year, 125 to be exact so there is a lot to choose from so I will be doing a top 10 with 7 honourable mentions so let's get started...

Honourable Mentions:

















Number 10: Theatrical by Maggie Harcourt 


Theatrical was just so fun. I feel in love with everything in the book and loved the romance. I really enjoyed the whole idea of going backstage in the theatre so I would definitely recommend. 
















Number 9: Lord Of Shadows by Cassandra Clare



I am more than happy to say that I was a massive fan of Lady Midnight but there was something about Lord of Shadows that I devoured and loved. That ending also broke me so I hope that I can read Queen of Air And Darkness in 2019.  













Number 8: Are We All Lemmings And Snowflakes? by Holly Bourne

I did really enjoy this book and thought that it was an interesting look at mental illness. I love Holly Bourne anyway so of course, I was going to love this book. I want …

Book Review: Ascension by Victor Dixen

*I am reviewing this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *

Title: Ascension Author: Victor Dixen Publisher: Hot Key Books Source: Readers First Rating: 5/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)



Book Summary:
Six girls, six boys. Each in the two separate bays of a single spaceship. They have six minutes each week to seduce and to make their choices, under the unblinking eye of the on-board cameras. They are the contenders in the Genesis programme, the world's craziest speed-dating show ever, aimed at creating the first human colony on Mars.

Leonor, an 18 year old orphan, is one of the chosen ones. 
She has signed up for glory.
She has signed up for love.
She has signed up for a one-way ticket.

Even if the dream turns to a nightmare, it is too late for regrets.

Book Review: 

I was excited to read Ascension as Hot Key were describing this as Love Island in space and much like the rest of the UK, I have been hooked by the show that has just finished. This description is so accurate bu…