Skip to main content

Book Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

*I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free by Penguin Books and Darkroom Tours in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *


War Girls (War Girls, #1)
Title: War Girls 
Author: Tochi Onyebuchi 
Publisher: Penguin
Source: Sent by the publisher and Darkroom Tours
Rating: 3/5 stars





Book Summary:

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther–inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author Tochi Onyebuchi has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

Book Review:

I was really excited to read the book, when I discovered the book was part of the tour as it was compared to Black Panther although I didn't really know what it was about. I was, however, surprised by how much I did enjoy the story.

I did, however, find it slow at the beginning. There was a lot of world building which was slow going at first but when I got going I really enjoyed the book. I also did find some problems with the flashbacks but they didn't take away from my feelings on the book.


I think that one of the reasons that I connected to the story because it is a story of two sisters. I liked seeing both of their point of views as it showed the terrible sides of war and although one of the plot points is creepy to read about. It highlights the realities of war.


I think the book also does not shy away the realities of ar especially child soldiers which are a main point of the plot. I also think that it is really important that the book talks about the Biafran War and draws attention to it as it is a history that more people should know about.


Basically the book is really good which kept me engaged and had really good characters about an important issue.

The Verdict:

War Girls is a must read for YA fans blending fact and fiction perfectly.

Have you read War Girls? Do you want to? Leave it in the comments below!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

On Turning 22

So on Wednesday (today when this goes up) I will be 22. *is currently listening to 22 by Taylor Swift* Obviously. The thing about turning 22 is the fact that you have just turned 21. I say just it was a whole year ago. 21 which has so many meanings behind it which is what I mentioned in my post last year so turning 22 feels kind of meh.21 felt to me last year as to be some big thing like my whole life was going to change. I was graduating from university after so much in my life felt like it was going to change.But the thing is it didn't.I stayed for a Masters in History. At the same university with people that I have know for some year and new ones and of course the people the people that graduated last year ain't there anymore and I do miss them. Things are still kind of the same.Turning 22 feels like it's in the middle. It's not special. It doesn't hold special meaning. It's just itself. This is how I feel like 2019.2019 is such a middling year for me. I'…

Book Review: The Return of the Young Prince by A.G. Roemmers

* I have received this book for review from the publisher but this in no way affects my review *
Title: The Return of the Young Prince Author: A.G. Roemmers Source: From publisher Publisher: One World Publishing Rating: 2/5 stars






Summary of The Return of the Young Prince from Goodreads:
With specially commissioned illustrations by Pietari Posti and a foreword by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry’s nephew,THE RETURN OF THE YOUNG PRINCE will be cherished by children and adults alike across the globe. 
Even princes from faraway planets do not always remain small. Eventually they grow up and – no longer content with their tiny planet – set off once again to explore the universe anew. So the Little Prince, now a teenager, one day returns to Earth and finds himself on a lonely country road in the vast, desolate plains of Patagonia. There he meets the narrator of this novel, who rescues him and takes him on a journey. Slowly the Prince shares the stories of his adventures, and together they begin to explore …

Ho Ho Ho Readthon TBR and Announcement!

So today marks the start of the Ho Ho Ho Readathon which I am taking part in. The readathon is hosted by Caffeinated Reviewer with the aim of reading as many Winter or Christmas reads as possible. The readathon starts today (9th November) and ends on the 18th November, As it is only November I am planning to read Winter themed books so let's get started in the TBR...


Physical Book: A Shiver of Snow and Sky by Lisa Lueddecke  




Graphic Novel: Blankets by Craig Thompson
Audiobook: A Clash Of Kings by George R. R. Martin 

So this is my TBR hopefully I will do a Wrap-Up post to do my progress.
Announcement!
So for the announcement, I can reveal that I am part of a book club which is called...
The Three Hallows Book Club

This is with my two friends Alex Chappell and Rachel so please check out their blogs if you can. This is our first venture as a book club but we are staying our first book in December. I am super excited about this and where it will go so stay tuned...
Are you taking part in the…