Skip to main content

Book Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

*I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free by Penguin Books and Darkroom Tours in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *


War Girls (War Girls, #1)
Title: War Girls 
Author: Tochi Onyebuchi 
Publisher: Penguin
Source: Sent by the publisher and Darkroom Tours
Rating: 3/5 stars





Book Summary:

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther–inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author Tochi Onyebuchi has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

Book Review:

I was really excited to read the book, when I discovered the book was part of the tour as it was compared to Black Panther although I didn't really know what it was about. I was, however, surprised by how much I did enjoy the story.

I did, however, find it slow at the beginning. There was a lot of world building which was slow going at first but when I got going I really enjoyed the book. I also did find some problems with the flashbacks but they didn't take away from my feelings on the book.


I think that one of the reasons that I connected to the story because it is a story of two sisters. I liked seeing both of their point of views as it showed the terrible sides of war and although one of the plot points is creepy to read about. It highlights the realities of war.


I think the book also does not shy away the realities of ar especially child soldiers which are a main point of the plot. I also think that it is really important that the book talks about the Biafran War and draws attention to it as it is a history that more people should know about.


Basically the book is really good which kept me engaged and had really good characters about an important issue.

The Verdict:

War Girls is a must read for YA fans blending fact and fiction perfectly.

Have you read War Girls? Do you want to? Leave it in the comments below!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

On Turning 22

So on Wednesday (today when this goes up) I will be 22. *is currently listening to 22 by Taylor Swift* Obviously. The thing about turning 22 is the fact that you have just turned 21. I say just it was a whole year ago. 21 which has so many meanings behind it which is what I mentioned in my post last year so turning 22 feels kind of meh.21 felt to me last year as to be some big thing like my whole life was going to change. I was graduating from university after so much in my life felt like it was going to change.But the thing is it didn't.I stayed for a Masters in History. At the same university with people that I have know for some year and new ones and of course the people the people that graduated last year ain't there anymore and I do miss them. Things are still kind of the same.Turning 22 feels like it's in the middle. It's not special. It doesn't hold special meaning. It's just itself. This is how I feel like 2019.2019 is such a middling year for me. I'…

Three Hallows March Post: On The Come Up by Angie Thomas Book Review

Title: On The Come Up Author: Angie Thomas Publisher: Walker Books Source: Bought Myself Rating: 5/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)



Book Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least make it out of her neighbourhood one day. As the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he hit big, Bri’s got big shoes to fill. But now that her mom has unexpectedly lost her job, food banks and shutoff notices are as much a part of Bri’s life as beats and rhymes. With bills piling up and homelessness staring her family down, Bri no longer just wants to make it—she has to make it.

On the Come Up is Angie Thomas’s homage to hip-hop, the art that sparked her passion for storytelling and continues to inspire her to this day. It is the story of fighting for your dreams, even as the odds are stacked against you; of the struggle to become who you are and not who everyone expects you to be, and of the desperate realities of poor and working-class black families.

Blog Tour: I Hold Your Heat by Karen Gregory Book Review

*I am reviewing this book which I was gifted for free by Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. *
Title: I Hold Your Heart Author: Karen Gregory Publisher: Bloomsbury Source: Sent by the publisher Rating: 4/5 stars
(Amazon|Goodreads)





Book Summary:
'You make me feel like there's something good in the world I can hold on to,' Aaron says. He kisses me again, draws me so close it's almost hard to breathe. 'I love you, Gem. And I promise I'll hold your heart forever.'

When Gemma meets Aaron, she feels truly seen for the first time. Their love story is the intense kind. The written-in-the-stars, excluding-all-others kind. The kind you write songs about.

But little by little their relationship takes over Gemma's life. What happens when being seen becomes being watched, and care becomes control?

Told in both Gemma's and Aaron's words, this is a raw, moving exploration of gaslighting in teenage relationships that skewers our ideas of …